Blog post #100 – And why you should write your first

Wonder-100-Milestone-Image-640x385

I began this blog in March 2014, and today we have finally hit blog post number 100.

First, I would like to say “thanks” to everyone who has taken an interest in the content I have produced in that time; everyone who has ‘liked’ one of my links on Facebook; everyone who has shared my material – it means a lot.

I started the blog simply out of interest. I had thoughts I wanted to write down, and a blog seemed like a good way to go about it. I have tried, on numerous occasions, to make videos on YouTube, but that never came to much, and my interest always fizzled out after a time.

Blogging has been something I have managed to stick to, and one that has had many benefits.

Chief among those: it encourages me to engage in the events going on in news and current affairs. I am fortunate in the fact I have been brought up to be constantly interested in politics and news, but knowing I have some sort of role to perform in the process of news dissemination means I have a far greater drive to critically analyse what we are being told by the news corporations.

Secondly, it gives me weight when it comes to making my own contacts. When handing out business cards and interviewing people, I can use my blog as a go-to for people to see what I can produce. Think of it like a resumé online, except this one is designed more like a portfolio.

11

Of course, blogging is all about writing, and so it is nice to be able to look back on some of my earlier blogs and see how they have progressed. I never delete blogs, nor do I edit them unless it is for factual inaccuracies.

Because of this, my ability to research and develop arguments has a visible change as they progress, and I am almost certain it ensures I a) keep honest with myself, and make sure everything I write is backed up, and b) perform to a high standard in my university assignments.

Finally, (one of the benefits I am now happy to say after reaching a good number of posts) I can look back on previous blogs and use them to inform new ones (when using historical references), and also to use in my university assignments. Think of it like the classical historians of old, narrating and describing the events happening around them; or of the diarists, such as Samuel Pepys, whose writings are still being examined, and provide keen insights into life in the 17th century.

This bank of information is now at my disposal to use, but also for everyone who visits this website. Be you interested in my comments and analysis of political goings-on, or are looking for some historical references for a comparison with today, or even to analyse my own political theories, this blog is for you.

And this is why I would encourage everyone to write that first blog post. Do not think of it as a chore, make it a habit. The first blog posts are always tough to get out, but set yourself a mission: who are you writing for, what is your interest, and why are you writing?

My answers: I am writing for people in my age group, to perhaps give them another opinion on current issues facing the world, and encourage them to think critically about them, too; and my interest is simply that I love politics, I love public affairs, I want to make a difference and let people know things could be different if we get involved.images

Ultimately, my main goal is increased political engagement and participation, and I hope my blog ticks those boxes.

Even subjects like political theory – although dry for some – will hopefully appear interesting if coming from someone of a similar age group.

When you see something that you have an opinion on, don’t keep it to yourself – go out there! Write about it! Maybe others will think the same way, and if not, the conversation can be very interesting too!

Even go a totally different direction: how would your cat view your daily life? What would he or she say about your day?

Whatever your interest is, be it sewing, cooking, dancing, travelling, space exploration, UFOs, or car tyres, make a pledge to sit down and get your thoughts out there. You will thank yourself for it in the long run.

Now, time for that 100th blog post cake!

Leave a Reply

